Ten apply for North Dakota Board of Higher Education

Published: Jan. 11, 2017 at 6:13 AM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

State Superintendent Kirsten Baesler said Wednesday that 10 people have applied for two openings on North Dakota’s Board of Higher Education.

The terms of Kari Reichert and Kathleen Neset, who is chairwoman of the board, end July 1. Neset, a geologist who owns a consultancy in Tioga, has applied to be considered for a new four-year term. Reichert did not seek reappointment.

Aside from Neset, the applicants for the two openings are:

- Thomas Atkinson, Bismarck, an environmental engineer for the Western Area Power Administration.

- Howard Dahl, Fargo, president and CEO of Amity Technology LLC of Fargo.

- Richard Glynn, a Grand Forks attorney and director of the Bioscience Association of North Dakota.

- Shawn Oban, a Bismarck city commissioner and principal of Roosevelt Elementary School in Bismarck.

- Robert Otto, a Crystal farmer and former president of the Crystal Farmers Elevator Cooperative.

- Casey Ryan, a Grand Forks doctor and former president of Altru Health System.

- Jonathan Sickler, Grand Forks, chief legal officer for Advanced Engineering and Environmental Services Inc. of

Grand Forks.

- Mary Stammen, Portland, special education director for the Griggs/Steele/Traill special education unit.

- Scott Staudinger, Bismarck, vice president of Cloverdale Foods Co. of Mandan.

Baesler is chairwoman of a nominating committee that reviews applications for the Board of Higher Education and makes

appointment recommendations. The committee chooses three candidates for each opening and forwards the names to the

governor. Baesler said the group will meet soon to review the applications.

The two pending choices will be Gov. Doug Burgum’s first appointments to the higher education board. His picks must be confirmed by the North Dakota Senate for them to be eligible to serve.

Other nominating committee members are Nick Archuleta, president of North Dakota United; Chief Justice Gerald VandeWalle; state Rep. Larry Bellew, R-Minot, the speaker of the North Dakota House; and state Sen. Gary Lee, RCasselton, the president pro tempore of the North Dakota Senate.

The Board of Higher Education has seven voting members, who are eligible to serve no more than two four-year terms. It also has one voting student member, who serves a one-year term, and nonvoting members of the university system’s faculty and staff, who also serve one-year terms.